Columbia State Community College
Oct 06, 2017
Dr. Janet F. Smith, Pres. Columbia State College
Columbia State Community College

. Smith was named president of Columbia State Community College in late November 2007, and officially took over the presidency on February 18, 2008.

Janet F. Smith assumed the presidency of Columbia State Community College in February 2008.  Smith, the fourth president of Columbia State, returned to her native Tennessee following a distinguished teaching and administrative career at Isothermal (NC), Dyersburg (TN), Hopkinsville (KY), and Rich Mountain (AR) community colleges.

Smith holds a Doctorate of Philosophy in Higher Education Administration from George Peabody of Vanderbilt, a Bachelor’s and Master’s from Austin Peay State University, and completed post-graduate studies at North Carolina State University, Indiana University, Mississippi State University and Harvard.

Dr. Smith is very active in the communities that Columbia State serves – she has presented at area, state and national conferences with an emphasis on strategic planning and leadership.  She is a graduate of Leadership Middle Tennessee and serves on numerous national, state, and community boards including Kings Daughters, Williamson Inc. Alumni Board, Tennessee Family Support Council, Higher Education Research Institute Board and the Community Based Education Board.